top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRehanababble

What I’ve learnt since the death of George Floyd


I’ve been thinking for a while about writing on this topic and suddenly, yesterday, my thoughts tumbled out. Here they are, for what they’re worth. These are some of my thoughts on BLM, EDI and what I’ve learned about me. Therefore, citations aren’t included, the only references made are to my lived experience.

BLM

· Some of my ‘friends’ are racist but think they aren’t, they just don’t understand what racism is or what being anti-racist is about (I have friends who are black mentality). They posted memes and comments on social media like ‘all lives matter’ (yes, of course though do, but, seriously, how can you be missing the point?), or, our borders should be protected from immigrants. Remember though, they’re not racist.

· Some people are quite politically and sociologically unaware and therefore don’t understand that when politics fail, riots can take over. It’s through social unrest that real and sustained change can occur.

· A group of non-white people can’t be categorised as a homogenous collective. There are too many differentials that need to be considered. So, labels like BAME, Black etc. are problematic and need unpicking through discussion and agreement with those it concerns, rather than the label being attributed by a white majority.

· The language around speaking about race and racism is complex, challenging and evolving.

· Some people believe that removing statues removes the history associated with the said person rather than understanding that it’s about removing the glorification of the individual, (who, in all likelihood, committed atrocities like genocide). Through removing the symbolism, it allows for the true story to be told, rather than a single narrative from the victors.

· White is the default; why had I never seen this before? (see below – colour-blind)

· Lived experience is important and something we need to share more to help white people understand why our life has been different, how we’ve been treated unfairly (past over for promotion, not selected for interview) and to show the impact the colour of our skin has had.

· People may say they want change, but they don’t want to lose their white power (without realising this might be the issue).

Equality, diversity and inclusion (EDI)

· Microaggressions exist and are real and I’ve experience them. My daughters were once told they couldn’t be Disney princesses because they’re blonde and blue eyed (Moana, Jasmine..?) when I challenged this with the parents (in a nice, jokey way), I was told I was too sensitive. At aged 15, in a telesales role, I was asked to change my name to Hannah (by a black man no less). A colleague at the OU said she thought Chinese were like Emperor penguins as they were able to recognise their own young (I can go on but won’t).

· Mandatory unconscious bias training is not the answer to creating change in an organisation. Change needs to come from the top and whilst everyone should also be aware of their biases, real long-term impactful change must come from having anti-racist systems and structures that mitigate against the unconscious bias having any impact.

· It's easy to focus or become focused on one protected characteristic (race, gender etc.)

· EDI can dilute the issues of a single protected minority.

· One size does not fit all and making changes for one group shouldn’t mean making changes for all groups.

About me

· I need to brave and speak out when I see, hear or recognise racist or discriminatory behaviour. I may be accused of ‘having a chip on my shoulder’ or that I’m ‘playing the race card’ but that isn’t my issue.

· The trajectory of my career has 100% been impacted by my ethnicity, it’s just taken me until my mid-40s to admit this. If it wasn’t for one or two individuals taking an interest/helping me (you know who you are) and my own tenacity, I would be struggling to move up to the next grade still.

· Through no fault of theirs, my parents didn’t understand the English education system in the same way that someone educated here would. They didn’t have access to that insider knowledge that my white peers had which enabled them to make choices about places of study, classification of degree, extra-curricular interests, scholarships, bursaries and how to apply etc.

· I find it uncomfortable talking about race and some of the things that have happened to me because I have tried to be ‘colour-blind’ for the last 25 years or so. Take it from me, this isn’t a good thing and it doesn’t work or help anyone. I have realised that I was bringing up my mixed-race/dual heritage/multi-racial/multiple backgrounds children (I’m not sure what I should call them, except for ‘my girls’, so, please don’t be offended if I’ve got it wrong) as colour-blind too. This is a massive disservice to them in preparing them for what’s out there.

· If there’s one thing you can do, if you have children (or know anyone that should know this stuff but doesn’t), make them aware of the differences in opportunities for those of different races. Educate them, help them to understand inequality and teach them to be the change. This is what I’m going to be doing differently.

· I’ve only just really started to talk about race to white people (and anyone else who’ll listen) in the last year and it’s uncomfortable.

· It’s tiring for those who are expected to speak for a homogenous group. The pressure, the extra time that is needed from them. This needs to be recognised, appreciated and re-compensated

.

· I have is my lived experience which I need to share with others.

· It can be hard to explain to someone that the colour of their skin has afforded them privilege, when they too have had hardships in their lives and suggesting that the hardship isn’t the same and trying to get them to understand how it’s different.

· I have so much more to learn about race and racism.

· I don’t want to be defined by only my race but by who I am.

· I’m learning all the time and the best way to be informed about anything, is to invest the time, read and learn. Don’t go by populist and social media or memes for information.

Find the truth for yourself.

153 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Being brown

Have you ever had your house bricked, And your legs kicked? Just because you’re brown. Have you ever been asked to change your name, And you find the guts to refuse as it’s so lame? Just because you’r

bottom of page